Page 1 of 2

New forum software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:29 pm
by ggold
Is this a new version, or new board software? In any case, I liked the old theme - can I get it now somehow?

Also, I can't find out how to tell if a forum has new posts at the index level. Help?

Thanks.

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:49 pm
by CheGuevara
Was meant to make an announcement, but had to run out. It's a new version. For now you can't get the old theme.

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:51 pm
by moeke
great work looks good

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:00 pm
by Bohanna
Looks good but some of the hyperlinks are not there in the usual way and I haven't figured out how get them yet. ANY help would be greatly appreciated .. Thanks

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:03 pm
by CheGuevara
Yeah, sorry about that. Didn't go as planned and the ed2k modifications backfired. I will try to get it back ASAP. For now you can copy and paste the links to your client, that should work without issues (while not being exactly convenient, again sorry)

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:07 pm
by Bohanna
Tanx!!! Not sure how to do the client thing. Is there anywhere to see a tutorial about how to do it? BTW you don't have to apologize, You folks are the best!!

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:11 pm
by CheGuevara
Well, there's nothing really to show. You copy the links from here, then paste them into emule (right click where all your downloads are and paste)

P.S. I've put the profile bit on forum back to where it was, that hopefully didn't break something.

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:30 pm
by momijigari
ggold wrote:Also, I can't find out how to tell if a forum has new posts at the index level. Help?
Just look at the forum icon and its color (currently red, for new/unread posts).

Or, look below the forum logo where there is a menu that says "Quick links".
Among other items, you can select "New posts", "Unread posts", etc.

Re: New software?

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:23 pm
by digital nobody
hello, on the subject of copy / paste links there may be a setting in your emule client to watch clipboard for links, if there is then it will ask you if you want to "add the ed2k file links to download" when you highlight the link and right click it to copy it.

also great job on the site

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:37 am
by MrX
Good work on the update. I can imagine it's been a bit of a mission. :)

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 12:05 pm
by Lee1001
Looks like the one from some years ago.

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:15 pm
by CheGuevara
Just because it's the default theme I guess (for now)

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:05 pm
by Ellegua
CheGuevara wrote:
Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:03 pm
Yeah, sorry about that. Didn't go as planned and the ed2k modifications backfired. I will try to get it back ASAP. For now you can copy and paste the links to your client, that should work without issues (while not being exactly convenient, again sorry)
Thanks, that'll get the job done. Good luck with the rest! :samurai

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:45 pm
by Mimic
Bohanna wrote:
Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:07 pm
Tanx!!! Not sure how to do the client thing. Is there anywhere to see a tutorial about how to do it? BTW you don't have to apologize, You folks are the best!!
Copy link for the file (hyperlink), then in emule client click "Tools".
Click "Paste eD2K Links" menu option and window will pop up for you to paste the file link you copied, then click the "Download" button on that window.

Edit:
Found another way to do it which is easier...mentioned by Che in an earlier post.
In emule client go to "Options" > "Files"
Under "Miscellaneous" tick the option "Watch clipboard for eD2K file links"
So now when you highlight the file link (hyperlink) and right click "copy", emule will ask if you want to download

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:16 pm
by supermanx1a
With the old software, you saw the link with the extension, you clicked on it and Shareaza automatically opened and placed the link in the transfer page. Now, you get a strange long link which you have to copy, start Shareaza, click on Tools, click on Download File/Torrent, get a window, and then paste the link.

Is there a shorter way to download a file? Why was a 1-step procedure, used for many years, replaced by a 5-step procedure? I am sure there must have been a good reason for the upgrade but can you explain if there is an easier way to get files instead of going through all the steps I described above? Thanks

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 7:27 pm
by CheGuevara
Please, read what I write entirely. I mentioned more than one time that it's temp and I'll fix it asap.
.. and it should be back to how it was now. Let me know!

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:13 pm
by hrmwrm
supermanx1a wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:16 pm
With the old software, you saw the link with the extension, you clicked on it and Shareaza automatically opened and placed the link in the transfer page. Now, you get a strange long link which you have to copy, start Shareaza, click on Tools, click on Download File/Torrent, get a window, and then paste the link.

Is there a shorter way to download a file? Why was a 1-step procedure, used for many years, replaced by a 5-step procedure? I am sure there must have been a good reason for the upgrade but can you explain if there is an easier way to get files instead of going through all the steps I described above? Thanks
the shorter way is to get emule, and find the setting to watch the clipboard for links. it will come up auto just like before.
once you copy, it'll come up to add it to emule, click yes. :)

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:44 pm
by qik5l
Thanks Che ED2k links working now, any chance getting them to work in the RSS feed?

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:39 pm
by excelcior
thank you for all your hard work it is very much valued

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:08 pm
by CheGuevara
qik5l wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:44 pm
Thanks Che ED2k links working now, any chance getting them to work in the RSS feed?
Is that a regression? Did they work in there before?

Re: New software?

Posted: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:17 pm
by supermanx1a
"Please, read what I write entirely. I mentioned more than one time that it's temp and I'll fix it asap"

Che, I am on ShareTheFiles almost every day and I absolutely never saw anything regarding upgrading the software or any of your msgs. No notification either. Where was what you wrote posted? Was there some notice sent out? I usually make it a point to read any correspondence but nothing was received and that is why I wrote the above.

".. and it should be back to how it was now. Let me know!"

It's back to normal. Thank you.

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:39 am
by Corky34
Good to see STF back, anxiety levels always rise when it's offline.

It also means i can change the red bulb back to a blue one in my flashing alert sign. ;)

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:17 am
by moeke
the azlist link i had isn't working anymore is it still there or gone

only thing i get is a blanc page

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:03 pm
by CheGuevara
moeke wrote:
Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:17 am
the azlist link i had isn't working anymore is it still there or gone

only thing i get is a blanc page
Also now fixed.

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:34 pm
by CheGuevara
qik5l wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:42 pm
CheGuevara wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:08 pm
qik5l wrote:
Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:44 pm
Thanks Che ED2k links working now, any chance getting them to work in the RSS feed?
Is that a regression? Did they work in there before?
They use to a couple of software versions back.
Please report if it's to your liking again now!

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 1:41 pm
by moeke
great thanks

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:41 pm
by hrmwrm
a-z is running over from one to the next.
eg; i get movies, high definition, then the brackets (bd, and h, and then the next square, with the next text under the runover of the next squares text.
any one that doesn't have the room for the text, runs over into the next heading in other words.
whatever is next to high definition is unreadable after the h in hd. all the way across until "reality", at which pointt there is room again.
all through various parts of the a-z it jumbles up the wording from one to the next. too many letters imposed over one another.
i'm using chrome.

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:42 pm
by CheGuevara
Yeah aware of that, will put it on my to do list, might take a while tho, hate HMTL stuff.

P.S. Feel free to express other bugs and suggestions here!

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:02 pm
by voetsak
My "thank you" for posts won't work, sorry.

Re: New software?

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:31 pm
by CheGuevara
It should.