No AC3 SD movies?

Say hello and introduce yourselves to us! Also the place for all off-topic chit chat and general discussion including movie and tv discussion and spoilers.
Post Reply
Elmojo
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:35 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

No AC3 SD movies?

Post by Elmojo » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:38 am

I've noticed lately that most of the SD movie releases are 2ch stereo, rather than the 5.1ch AC3 that I've been used to for the past several years.
Is there a reason for that? I really miss the surround sound, but I don't have the bandwidth or drive space for HD copies.

User avatar
Sinyk
Donator
Donator
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Canberra, ACT, Australia
Has thanked: 116 times

Re: No AC3 SD movies?

Post by Sinyk » Fri Mar 03, 2017 8:56 am

I would have to echo Elmojo's sentiments. I, too, prefer the SD with 5.1ch feature that no longer appear for the same reasons he (or she) gives above.

User avatar
CheGuevara
The Governor
The Governor
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:00 pm
Location: USSR

Re: No AC3 SD movies?

Post by CheGuevara » Sat Mar 04, 2017 12:40 am

It's pretty simple. Get good quality video and audio or get average for both.

Elmojo
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:35 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: No AC3 SD movies?

Post by Elmojo » Sat Mar 04, 2017 2:34 am

I understand that logic, but for many of us, the SD releases are plenty good video-wise, but audio quality is more important.
I can put up with fairly poor quality video, if the audio is excellent.
What I don't get is why all the releases up until recently were primarily AC3 5.1, but have dropped back to 2ch audio.
This is a step backwards in quality. Surely it can't save that much in file size to be worth giving up surround?
It's not like the video quality has gotten noticeably better...

User avatar
CheGuevara
The Governor
The Governor
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 9:00 pm
Location: USSR

Re: No AC3 SD movies?

Post by CheGuevara » Sat Mar 04, 2017 11:33 pm

Not sure what past releases you had in mind. But scene SD rules have not allowed AC3 for years

Elmojo
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Oct 14, 2009 12:35 am
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: No AC3 SD movies?

Post by Elmojo » Thu Mar 09, 2017 3:55 am

Really? That long?
Man, I guess I just thought the releases had been poor quality in the audio department, and hadn't noticed it was an actual scene decision.
So there's no way to get decent (5.1) audio without downloading the massive HD video files?
It just seems to make no sense not to include multichannel audio in all releases.
I need to try to find some sort of scene 'press release' or something that explains why. Maybe there's more too it that I'm missing, but it feels odd.

Post Reply

Return to “General Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest