windows 7 to Windows 10

Your computer feeling a lot slower lately? That new program you installed not working? Can't convert a specific file? Looking to buy a new hard drive or dvd writer? Would like some recommendations? Firewalls, latest threats and general P2P security issues are here also.
djmattybigbig
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 8:54 pm
Location: 53 miles west of Venus

windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by djmattybigbig » Fri Sep 18, 2015 9:47 am

O.K chaps time to be honest. I have a crack of Windows 7 on an old Laptop which they are trying to force 10 onto. I know eMule works ok on 10 cos I have a legit Dell running it. First things first, will 10 detect the crack, and second, will it allow me to rip YouTube to mp3 and put the songs on my iPhone via iTunes?

Yes I know I should pay for music, but this is stuff I already own on Vinyl so I've paid once.

I wouldn't mind converting to 10 as I have a networking issue that I think it will solve.

Thanks.

kggf
Donator
Donator
Posts: 301
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 10:16 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by kggf » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:05 pm

I think it will detect the crack and ask you to pay, or get a proper version. I think windows 10 is free anyway so why not download it fresh of the net, put it onto cd or something and do a clean install... I haven't used win 10 so I am not sure how that works.

User avatar
Will-I-Am
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:45 pm
Location: The Big Apple

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by Will-I-Am » Fri Sep 18, 2015 4:28 pm

Not sure if it will detect the crack, maybe it depends on what crack is used.

You did not mention what you used to rip to mp3 or what version of Windows 7, did you get it here?

You could make a Image of the 'C partition' which you could restore if Windows 10 will not upgrade or rip YouTube to mp3 does not work.

To make Images I use Acronis.Backup.and.Recovery.v10.0.11105.Workstation
Someone else recommended Macrium Reflect Free

To test software I use VMware Workstation I tested Windows 10 Enterprise with it.

You could do a clean install with Windows 10 Enterprise if you want to go that route.

deadbodyman
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 6434
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:52 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by deadbodyman » Sat Sep 19, 2015 8:58 pm

Just to mention, the Win7 AIO Rojas version's auto activator worked for me and activated Win10 automatically when I installed the upgrade.
However, I did not like it and went back to Win7.

darkstone
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 12:30 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by darkstone » Sat Sep 19, 2015 9:05 pm

Windows 10 upgrade is ok for all the general aspects of Windows but it fails big time with the new Internet Edge which doesn't support a lot od add ons like Nortons Phishing filters and so on. Also it's biggets let down is the fact that media player will no longer support DVD's and their Windows DVD is a lot to be desired and glitches when playing most media files as well so your left having to buy one of the other Apps to do some of the most basic things. As a result I've gone back to Windows 7 as I don't like the Apps side of things which Windows 10 seems to be more based around.

User avatar
Will-I-Am
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1019
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 9:45 pm
Location: The Big Apple

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by Will-I-Am » Sat Sep 19, 2015 10:29 pm

deadbodyman wrote:Just to mention, the Win7 AIO Rojas version's auto activator worked for me and activated Win10 automatically when I installed the upgrade.
However, I did not like it and went back to Win7.
Thanks for the feedback.

deadbodyman
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 6434
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:52 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by deadbodyman » Tue Sep 22, 2015 11:47 pm

My pleasure, Will. :)

Yeah, Win10 upgrade did not see it. I guess it simply looks to see if your Windows is genuine.
Considering if you are able to receive normal Windows updates and install them, the Win10 upgrade option is a Windows update.
You most likely will not see the upgrade option if it failed genuine and would not give you the option to begin with. ;)

Mark_Man
Donator
Donator
Posts: 503
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:58 am

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by Mark_Man » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:24 pm

all I can say about windows 10 is it's crap lol stick with 7 it's the best oh g;day DBM and will hope all is well with you two

aston316
Newly registered user
Newly registered user
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:13 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by aston316 » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:03 pm

theres a way to make windows7 think its genuine by removing the update KB971033. I did this and was able to upgrade to windows 10

maxrnb
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:58 am

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10 (on Virtual Machine)

Post by maxrnb » Mon Oct 05, 2015 11:56 pm

deadbodyman wrote:Just to mention, the Win7 AIO Rojas version's auto activator worked for me and activated Win10 automatically when I installed the upgrade.
However, I did not like it and went back to Win7.
I'm trying to test Win 10 in a virtual machine on a Win7 x64 AIO Rojas hardware machine B4 installing on a real machine and not having much luck so far.

I'm using VMware Workstation 12(EMBRACE) to create the VM. I was able to get Win7 x64 AIO Rojas installed in the virtual machine with not too much drama.
Using a Win10 x64 ISO created from the MS MediaCreationToolx64 as installation media, I'm getting "not able to install from this path" type of error message.

Going with MediaCreationToolx64.exe on it's own right now. It's running but taking a long time (3 hours so far) to download the files to the virtual machine. :?
Any help is much appreciated.
Many Thanks

deadbodyman
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 6434
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:52 pm

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by deadbodyman » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:09 am

Again, I don't think it will work if you try and use it on a VM. Microsoft is looking for legitimate hardware and software from hard drive paths like C: drive; not VM's.
Good luck. ;)

firecat
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1052
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:56 am
Location: What Colour Is Love?

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by firecat » Tue Oct 06, 2015 9:25 am

Went from 7 to 10 and back to 7 within 2 days hated it.

maxrnb
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 2:58 am

Re: windows 7 to Windows 10

Post by maxrnb » Thu Oct 08, 2015 3:51 am

deadbodyman wrote:Again, I don't think it will work if you try and use it on a VM. Microsoft is looking for legitimate hardware and software from hard drive paths like C: drive; not VM's.
Good luck. ;)
Yea deadbodyman. I didn't think it would work either.
After much time and drama I did did get Win 10 to install in the VM with the following steps:
1. Download the MS MediaCreationToolx64.exe to have it on hand and ready to go.
2. Install VMware Workstation 12 Pro on the host machine. (old Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66GHz, 8GB RAM)
3. Install Win7 x64 Rojas in the virtual machine.
4. Setting up the VM to share the folder with the MediaCreationToolx64 file.
5. Launch MediaCreationToolx64.exe in the Win7 virtual machine.
6. Select the "Upgrade now" option
7. Wait a long time (about 6 hrs all told) for the Win10 install source files to download and install.

After the long wait Win10 Pro x64 finally did install. I'm playing around with it now.
Now I'll have to see if the wait and all the drama was worth it. :wink:

deano426
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: in the dungeon

windows 7 to 10

Post by deano426 » Sat Jun 04, 2016 3:02 pm

how do I upgrade to windows 10 if my windows 7 isn't genuine

paulo.manuel.brito
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 11:44 am

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by paulo.manuel.brito » Sat Jun 04, 2016 4:39 pm

That is not an upgrade - is a downgrade.

User avatar
qik5l
Donator
Donator
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:43 pm
Been thanked: 142 times

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by qik5l » Sat Jun 04, 2016 8:58 pm

If it was activated with win loader it will upgrade to a genuine win 10.

deano426
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: in the dungeon

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by deano426 » Sun Jun 05, 2016 12:30 am

it was activated with loader but says not genuine when trying to upgrade

User avatar
qik5l
Donator
Donator
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:43 pm
Been thanked: 142 times

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by qik5l » Sun Jun 05, 2016 1:16 am

I have done clean installs of win 7, activated with the latest windows loader, then done the win 10 upgrade using a clean install of win 10.
Other win 7 computers that i had activated with win loader have done the upgrade with no problems.
is win 7 or win 10 saying it's not genuine? If win 7 try reactivating with the latest win loader.

dudeuk
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: sharethefiles.com

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by dudeuk » Sun Jun 05, 2016 3:10 pm

if you have used a loader before on windows 7 and it all worked ok
why not just do roughly same with windows 10..

do clean install of windows 10 then activate with Microsoft Toolkit 2.6 Beta 5

deano426
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: in the dungeon

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by deano426 » Sun Jun 05, 2016 7:53 pm

how would I do a clean install of windows 10?

dudeuk
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: sharethefiles.com

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by dudeuk » Tue Jun 07, 2016 4:29 pm

download a copy of windows 10 that suites your needs ( home or pro , 32bit or 64bit )
backup your current data and information on your computer
install windows 10 making sure to delete the old partition where old windows was
now you have a clean installation of windows 10
activate with Microsoft Toolkit 2.6 Beta 5

deano426
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: in the dungeon

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by deano426 » Tue Jun 07, 2016 8:41 pm

which version would you recommend? link?

dudeuk
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 1014
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 4:50 pm
Location: sharethefiles.com

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by dudeuk » Tue Jun 07, 2016 9:23 pm

myself with my pc i would use windows 10 pro x64

but depending what your machine is capable of is what version you would get

using microsofts media creation tool you can get a fresh basic version of what you choose
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/softwar ... /windows10

toolkit 2.6 BETA 5 can be found in this post
viewtopic.php?f=146&t=219367&p=1512879


can get one of my windows 10 pro x64 versions from here which will be pre activated
Spoiler: Toggle
hope this helps..
Last edited by dudeuk on Tue Jan 24, 2017 3:47 pm, edited 7 times in total.

User avatar
qik5l
Donator
Donator
Posts: 398
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:43 pm
Been thanked: 142 times

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by qik5l » Tue Jun 07, 2016 10:50 pm

You can directly download Windows ISO's with this tool.
https://www.heidoc.net/joomla/technolog ... nload-tool

deano426
Registered user
Registered user
Posts: 73
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 pm
Location: in the dungeon

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by deano426 » Wed Jun 08, 2016 3:13 am

cant seem to get past the not genuine windows error ,how do I delete windows seven to put 10 on?

User avatar
raffe
Donator
Donator
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:47 am
Has thanked: 3 times

Re: windows 7 to 10

Post by raffe » Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:26 am

Boot the computer with Windows 10 installation media and do a clean installation. Download the ISO from here (or look here) and put it on a DVD or USB stick (look here for my favorite and/or here for more options and/or Microsoft for help with that)

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Technical Support & Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest